NAWBO SJ Announces Legislator of the Year, Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt

The National Association of Women Business Owners, South Jersey chapter (NAWBO SJ) is pleased to announce a final addition to the honorees for the 2015 Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awards Gala, Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt as Legislator of the Year.   The annual awards gala and fundraiser is a dinner program that honors extraordinary individuals for their contributions to women and women business owners, as well as their commitment to excellence and community. This year’s gala will be held on February 19th at The Mansion in Voorhees, NJ.

Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt has represented New Jersey’s 6th Legislative District since 2006. As the Chair of the Assembly Women and Children Committee, Assemblywoman Lampitt has been at the vanguard of key policy issues affecting New Jersey’s middle-class and working families. She is New Jersey’s leading champion of equal pay for women, and she has sponsored a landmark package of legislation to enact pay equity in New Jersey. Assemblywoman Lampitt also authored New Jersey’s law preventing workplace discrimination against pregnant women.

Throughout her leadership of the Women and Children Committee, the Committee has covered topics including: preventing domestic violence, raising awareness about child obesity, empowering parents through ratings systems for violent video games, job creation, supporting women-owned businesses, and more.

NAWBO SJ will recognize and honor Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt for her long history of advocating for women and women business owners at the Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awards on February 19th, along with eleven other amazing women.

The 2015 Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awardees are:

Legislator of the Year:  Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt, 6th District, NJ

Trailblazer of the Year:  Donna Cristino, Jing Ai

Company of the Year:  Valerie Schlitt, Valerie Schlitt Associates

Heroine of the Year:  Dr. Esther Deblinger, New Jersey Child Abuse Research Education and Service (CARES) Institute

Media Advocate of the Year:  Jenny Ryan, SNJ Business People

Community Advocate of the Year:  Dr. Donna Pellegrino, The Psychology Group

Environmental Advocate of the Year:  Melissa Lee, The Green Program

Woman Entrepreneur Under 40: Molly Hayward, Cora

Women’s Health Advocate of the Year: Dr. Kathleen Baumgardner, Health Goals Chiropractic and Center for Life Enhancement

Woman Business Owner of the Year: Mindie Barnett, MB and Associates Public Relations

NAWBO SJ Chapter Champion:  Fran Davis, The Flavorful Fork

NOVA Award: Katie Walsh, Rita’s Water Ice

The 2015 Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awards Gala will also feature an inspirational keynote address from Pamela Slim, acclaimed author, speaker, business consultant and entrepreneur. Slim’s keynote at the gala will center around her most recent book, “Body of Work: Finding the Thread that Ties Your Story Together,” which aims to give the reader the tools necessary to have a meaningful career in this new world of work; a world where jobs and careers are increasingly less stable and more diverse.  All VIP ticket holders will have an opportunity to meet Slim in the VIP reception room, as well as receive a signed copy of her book, “Body of Work”. You can register online at For updates follow #BGC2015.

In recent years, the Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awards Gala has drawn roughly 250 attendees, mostly business women and men from the South Jersey region who come to honor the awardees, network, enjoy a great night out, and be inspired by the keynote’s address.  All proceeds of this annual fundraiser, NAWBO SJ’s largest, are used to help the chapter continue to provide education, networking & leadership opportunities to women business owners in South Jersey.  NAWBO SJ is a not-for-profit organization.

2015 marks the 40th anniversary of NAWBO. This year’s awards gala will not only celebrate the inspirational honorees, but also this grand milestone and the rich history of a great organization dedicated to the advancement of women business owners.

To learn more about the 2015 Beyond the Glass Ceiling Awards Gala, visit

About NAWBO National

The National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO), headquartered in the Washington, DC metropolitan area, is the only dues-based national organization representing the interests of all women entrepreneurs in all types of businesses.  The organization currently has over 80 chapters.   NAWBO traces its origins to a small group of Washington, DC business women who began meeting informally in the spring of 1975 to talk about mutual experiences, exchange information and develop business skills.  Recognizing the value of the group, they incorporated as the National Association of Women Business Owners on July 5, 1975.  Two years later they began recruiting members from across the country, and in 1978 the first chapters were formed.   Website: